Real quotation(s) for the week

My Lord Jesus Christ, two graces I beg of you before I die: the first is that in my lifetime I may feel, in my soul and in my body, as far as possible, that sorrow which you, sweet Jesus, endured in the hour of your bitter passion; the second is that I may feel in my heart, as far as possible, that abundance of love with which you, Son of God, were inflamed, so as willingly to endure so great a passion for us sinners.

Attributed correctly to St. Francis; it’s in The Little Flowers, On the Third Consideration of the Sacred Holy Stigmata. I was pretty sure it was legit–this is not a motivational speaker tree-hugger saying–but I checked anyway for practice.


Therefore do not seek to understand in order to believe, but believe that thou mayest understand.

Attributed correctly to St. Augustine; it’s in Tractate XXIX on the Gospel of John. Wikiquote mentions in passing that St. Anselm said something similar, but it’s not on his Wikiquote page. I knew about its attribution to St. Anselm and so checked this attribution to St. Augustine. It turns out that the St. Anslem one is the iffy one.

